Apple Wireless Magic Keyboard

Review Category

Rating

1 Star

Review

This is a review of Apple's wireless magic keyboard.
Let me start off by saying that this keyboard is probably one of the less expensive Apple products out their. it's $99, including tax.
The keyboard can be pared by turning on bluetooth on your mac or iOS device. On the top right of the keyboard is the on/off switch and to the left of that is the lightning port for charging the battery. On the four corners of the back of the keyboard are little pieces of rubber shaped like circles. These prevent the keyboard from sliding when you are typing.
What I love about this keyboard is how convenient it is. You know how it is if you ever want to take notes on your iOS device or send a text message or write something down really quick. Although dictation and Siri are wonderful features, you may be in a situation where you don't want everyone to hear what you are saying. And typing on the touchscreen with VoiceOver can be slow. Personally I like to type fast, but some people may prefer the touchscreen and that's fine.
I also like that this keyboard has the general layout of the Macintosh, which really helps if you are already used to a mac. With this keyboard, you can move around your screen with the arrow keys or use control + option and the left, right, up and down arrows to navigate your device. If you want to open an app you can press control option space. You also have the option in the VoiceOver settings screen to change the VoiceOver modifier keys, so instead of using control + option, you can also just use caps lock.
This keyboard is thin and light yet durable.
I'd highly recommend this keyboard to anyome who wants a quick way to type using their iOS device. Plus, you only need to charge the battery about once a month, and you can leave the keyboard turned on.

Devices Accessory Was Used With

iPhone

Disclaimer

The article on this page has generously been submitted by a member of the AppleVis community. As AppleVis is a community-powered website, we make no guarantee, either express or implied, of the accuracy or completeness of the information.

Options

Comments

Submitted by Jon J on Wednesday, February 17, 2016

may i ask can this keyboard be wired? And is it convenient to keep it stored? thanks~

Submitted by Faceless1 on Wednesday, February 17, 2016

This keyboard comes with a lightning cable for charging and can be used whilst connected to your Mac for charging. So, essentially it can be used with your Mac as a wired keyboard if you wish.

Submitted by Lisa on Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Hello,
This keyboard came with my iMac, and I really do like it. One thing that I can't figure out though, is how to see what the battery status is for the keyboard. I use this keyboard on my iMac, so I want to check the battery status on my Mac. Thank you.

Submitted by molly on Wednesday, February 17, 2016

In reply to by Lisa

Thi was my first review and I forgot to mention a few things about this keyboard. Yes it can be plugged into a mac. I do not currently know how to check the battery status of the keyboard when it is plugged into the mac seeing that I got it last week. But if you use the keyboard with your iOS device you can scroll down to your notifications. The battery status of the wireless keyboard will be displayed along with your iOS device's battery. When I figure out if there is a way to check the battery status of the wireless keyboard using the mac I will let everyone know.

Submitted by Mani on Wednesday, February 17, 2016

hello Molly,
Is it durable like the classic wired Apple full-size keyboard? Or is it one of those cheap plastic kinds? Does it have all the three keys (Command, Option, Control) on the right side of the space bar?
Thanks,
mani

Submitted by molly on Wednesday, February 17, 2016

In reply to by Mani

On the back side of the keyboard it is all plastic with the sstandard apple logo. But on the sides and front of the keyboard it feels like your regular mac conputer. I would say it's very durable. I've been carrying it it around with me for the week I've had it and it does not have a scratch on it. On the left side of the keyboard, it has the control, option, command keys. On the right side it has just command and option. I've never had an iMac so I think my wireless keyboard his the laptop layout, but all you have to do is just switch to using your left hand. I'd also recommend you find a little case for the keyboard, if your are worried it may get scratched, but you don't have to. For $100 this keyboard works great. It does not feel like it was made cheaply.

Submitted by JDawg on Tuesday, May 17, 2016

If it's anything like the other apple Bluetooth keyboard, you find the battery status under keyboard in system preferences.

Submitted by MikeFont on Saturday, September 10, 2016

I'm in search of a backspace key on this keyboard as I'm not able to make a mistake at all. rofl
Hopefully someone can tip me off as to what I'm either missing, or what commands must I type to achieve a backspace.
Oh, the other problem I'm having is how to stop this keyboard from entering multiple letters of one keypress.
I went into settings|accessibility|keyboards|and turned off the key repeat function. But it still continues to happen.
Any help with these two problems will seriously save me a trip back to the store to return it.

Thanks so much!