Reopening message conversations in Mac

Forum
macOS & Mac Apps

Hello,
I closed a conversation in the messages app using Mac OS. I can't find a way to reopen it. There is no recent items on the menu. I also need to print the conversation. How do I do this using a printer connected via USB?

Options

Comments

Submitted by Usman on Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Type typing command n, and typing in the name of the person the conversation was with.
As for printing, you can do that by pressing command p once the conversation opens.

Submitted by Usman on Wednesday, March 1, 2017

when you evoke the command, you just search for the person whom you want to see the conversation for. this works for me every time.
I cannot tell you how or why, it just works.

Submitted by Seanoevil on Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Hi,

Try the following:
From within the messages app Navigate to the Conversations table.
You will know you are on the Conversations table because it will announce "Conversations" and read the last message.
Interact with the Conversations Table
Navigate left or right within the table to find the conversation you want.
Un-interact with the Conversations Table.
Navigate right until you hear "Web Content"
Interact with Web Content. This should be the Conversation History you selected in the Conversation Table.
Hope this helps.

@SeaNoEvil00 .

Submitted by Usman on Thursday, March 2, 2017

to the above commenter, if one closes the conversation window, the window is no longer available in the conversation window that you described. or at least, it wasn't when I tried it.

Submitted by Seanoevil on Thursday, March 2, 2017

Hi,

I think we must use the Messages Application in very different ways. I am not sure why, or even how, you would close the conversation window (not a judgement btw*.
If, however, I got the notification that Messages has no windows, then I would use Command 0 will reset it.
Another method for cycling between conversations is Control plus Tab. Control Tab to cycle forward and control Shift Tab to cycle backwards.

HTH

@SeaNoEvil00

Submitted by LaBoheme on Thursday, March 2, 2017

i think the op is looking to see the transcript, not just opening a new thread. i also suspect the op is using older version of mac os. in older version of the messages app, the menu says "close conversation", modern versions say "delete conversation", so there is less confusion of what the operation does.

if one reopen the thread and there is no transcript, it is most likely deleted. to be sure, go to
~//Library/Containers/com.apple.iChat/Data/Library/Messages/Archive
and see if one can find it. also browse the same location of one's timemachine backup. if one can't find it, sorry, it's gone.