IOS Automatic Updates

Forum
iOS and iPadOS

I have read time and again the importance of doing a backup before installing an IOS update; but what if Apple "blows in" an update automatically without your permission? A couple of nights ago, I connected my iPhone 6 to my PC to sync it with that computer. After about an hour, I found that the IOS update was underway, and I received a warning to not close iTunes for that reason. Next morning, I was confronted with the Setup routine - not terribly difficult to accomplish, but annoying because I wasn't expecting the update and hated to take the time to do the setup. Fortunately, I have passcodes disabled, so I didn't have to worry about that. I wish that those updates were delivered with an option to install or not install them, allowing the user to back up the phone before doing the update. From a practical standpoint, however, the best advice I can offer is to back up your phone frequently so that you won't lose much if one of these updates is "blown in" upon you without previous notice.

Options

Comments

Submitted by david s on Thursday, March 30, 2017

Hello,

The IOS or iTunes always prompts you when there is an update available. You will then be given the option to install now or later. In some cases, you will need to agree and accept the license agreement before you can continue.

In your case, you were using iTunes on a Windows or Mac. Either you or someone that also uses the PC checked the box labeled do not show me this message again on a previous upgrade thus you were not prompted or shown the update message.

HTH and good luck.

Thanks, David. How do I find that box in iTunes and uncheck it? I'm not very familiar with iTunes; when I bring it up, all I see are items related to music. I was once able to find a button for the app store and a way to manage some of those checkboxes. I don't think anything adverse happened to me on the last update, but I'd like to find that checkbox and uncheck it so that I would receive those messages begfore updates occur.

Submitted by david s on Thursday, March 30, 2017

Hello,

Are you using Windows? If so, launch iTunes. Select edit> preferences then the advance tab. Click on reset warnings and uncheck check for new software automatically. Then click OK.

HTH and good luck.

More Like This